Sunday

Yesterday we said goodbye to the hubster for five weeks. He’s off to Newcastle for his resettlement course and will hopefully return with a whole range of new sills to enable him to get work of some description in civvy street. Although we are more than used to the whole going away thing this time seems different. It could be the last time we have to do it. Almost seems bittersweet, no more separation but no more army life.
So, as usual, the Dandelions went into absolute overload after his departure and spent yesterday doing everything they possibly could to turn me into a straight jacket restrained, babbling half wit, facing the rest of my life in a padded cell! It is, of course, completely normal for forces children to behave this way when a parent goes away and they do settle down after a couple of days, but that doesn’t make it any easier to deal with for those few days!

 

bat shit crazy

And after the wake up call this morning, I’m not holding out much hope for Sunday to be any better…

5am DinoBoy, standing beside the bed : “Mum, I need a pen!”
Me, through gritted teeth: “Go back to bed!”
DinoBoy: “Can I go on Dad’s Facebook on the dinosaur game then?”
I chase him down the hall into his room and tell him not to move until it’s light outside!
5.45am Tinks: “I want to watch tv in the living room!”
Me: “It’s still night go back to sleep.”
Tinks throws head back and does an uncanny impression of an air raid siren! Me: “Go!” She runs to the living room gets under a blanket and watches tv while I sneak back to bed.
6.15am Zoom: “Muuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuum! Muuuuuuuuuuuum! Muuuuuuuuuuuuuuum!” You get the picture.
I get him up put him next to Tinks on the sofa, give up all hope of getting any more sleep and go in search of headache pills and caffeine!
So my plans of a tranquil Sunday spent baking and wandering through the woods and being all happy, smiley are completely out the window as I now have three over tired demons on my hands who are, of course, impossible to reason with.
I do love army life and the little obstacles it throws at us every so often, but this one I could do without!
Happy Sunday!
Comments make me happy! :)

