100 word challenge “The Magnolia Years”

This piece is an adapted exerpt from something I have been working on recently.

The prompt for this week  is: ….they worked when I put them away…  

The Magnolia Years

It had only been three weeks since the contents of their life had been packed away and put into storage, the joys of an overseas posting with the army, yet it seemed like a lifetime since she had seen any of these things. How is it possible to forget you own something in such a short time?

“What was I thinking when I kept these?” She murmured

“Maybe they were broken during the move…” he smirked “Oops!”  There was a crash as the hideous matching lamps hit the floor.

My Mother gave us them!” She said

“Well, they worked when I put them away!” He laughed.

6 thoughts on “100 word challenge “The Magnolia Years”

Comments make me happy! :)

